This series consists of records created by Mytholmroyd Industrial Society including General Committee minute books and members' nomination books, members registers and share pass books.
Mytholmroyd Industrial Society
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1499 NCRS/2/33
- Dates of CreationDec 1861- Oct 1972
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description17 volumes, 9 Items
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Influenced by the success of other local Co-operative Societies, particularly Hebden Bridge, discussion began in 1861 to form a society in Mytholmroyd. The Society hired the lower room of a cottage which Edward Henry Horsfall kept as a school in Square, Sowerby Scout Road. The members met there once a week to collect shares of £1 and when they had around £300 they decided to open a shop.
They rented a house next to the White Lion Hotel, Burnley Road. The first committee members were Messrs John Helliwell, John Greenwood (Hall Gate), James White (George's Fold), John Farrar (White Lee), Henry Thomas (Bottom Laith), Thomas Hodgson and Alfred Smith (White Houses), William Southwell (Burnley Road), and Joseph Greenwood (Pall Mall). Mr Joseph Farra was the Secretary, Mr James Gledhill the Secretary and Mr William Southwell the Chairman. They began the business in May 1861 in the name of Mr William Southwell. After the 2 failures they eventually settled on a Mr Daniel Greenwood as Manager.
After 7 months of trading the Society had made a profit of £92. 6s. 3d. In early 1862 they rented the cottage adjoining the shop for the purposes of a drapery. They also took on a further shop as a coal business. Due to the rapid expansion of the Society they bought more land on the South side of County Bridge that had previosuly been used as a garden by Mr William Crabtree. A new central premises was built there and was opened in 1864. In 1866 the Society took shares in Sowerby Bridge Flour Society and Halifax Flour Society and in 1868 became affiliated with the Co-operative Wholesale Society. In 1869 the Society built 8 houses at Sowerby Scout Road which became called Grove Terrace. In 1871 a branch was opened at Brearley and in 1878 a clogging business was started. In 1887 additional property was bought at the opposite side of the road to the Central store for £1440. This building housed the drapery department, dress making, mantle making and millinery.
By 1911 the Society had 606 members. Progress continued throughout the twentieth century and by 1966 there were 1433 members. In 1968 Mytholmroyd Industrial Society transferred its engagements to the Co-operative Retail Services.
Source: 'Mytholmroyd Industrial Society. Jubilee Celebration 1861-1911. Short history of the Society', (1911).