Conisborough Working Man's Co-operative Society

Scope and Content

This series is made up of the half yearly reports and balance sheets of Conisborough Working Man's Co-operative Society. Each report consists of a list of officers, notices, the income and expenditure for the various accounts, and other notable events.

Administrative / Biographical History

Conisborough Working Man's Co-operative Society was formed in 1901. The first President was Mr R Wimpenny. The first Committee was made up of F Fisher (Secretary), T W Mosby (Treasurere), C Gibson, W J Carter, A Beardshaw, W Blackburn, G Singleton, J N O Goose, J Crossland, J A Senior, T H Harrison, G H Hirst, and GEO Briggs. Meetings took place on the first Monday of every month. In 1954 the Society became part of Doncaster Co-operative Society. In 1969 this became part of Co-operative Retail Services.