This series consists of records created by the Stainland & Holywell Green Industrial Co-operative Flour & Provision Society including 3 Committee minute books, 32 quarterly/half yearly report and balance sheets, and 4 small savings deposit books.
Stainland & Holywell Green Industrial Co-operative Flour & Provision Society
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1499 NCRS/2/43
- Dates of Creation1861 - 1971
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description4 volumes and 35 Items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Stainland and Holywell Green Industrial Co-operative Flour & Provision Society was formed following a meeting on the 2nd of March 1861. The rules of the nearby Huddersfield, Halifax and Littleborough societies were adopted as a basis and deputations were sent to find shop premises in both Stainland and Holywell Green. The society was registered in 1864.
Members of the 1861 committee included Martin H. Green, James Edwards, Joshua Shaw, John Bray, Ely Eastwood, Jospeh Aspinall, John Glehill, William Tilling and John Iredale and Benjamin Akroyd. The name J.D Barraclough & Co was painted on to the shop sign. Starting as grocery stores, both branches expanded quickly to include Grocery, Coal, Butchering, and Clogging departments. Through the nineteenth century the Stainland and Holywell Green Society continued to invest in nearby societies, having especially close links with the Halifax Flour Society.
In 1964 the society included departments for Groceries, Drapery and Fashions, Men's Wear, Footwear, Furnishing, Hardware, Radio and TV and Electrical.
When the Society merged with CRS in 1968 its membership stood at 947.