Bridge End Equitable Progressionists' Society (Todmorden)

Scope and Content

This series consists of records created by the Bridge End Equitable Progressionists' Society. Including minute books, balance sheets, wages ledgers, coal ledgers, insurance ledgers, and posters.

Administrative / Biographical History

Bridge End Equitable Progressionists Society emerged out of the Todmorden Co-operative Society. The Todmorden Co-operative Society, formed in 1847, had two stores by 1851. One shop was in Todmorden and another was in 'the shades'. The shades store became more successful and broke from the Todmorden Society in Apr 1851. The store began trading under the name 'James Hoyle and Company'. By Mar 1854 they had become so successful that they moved to bigger premises on Rochdale Road. On 16 Sep 1857 they resolved to rent premises at Bridge End belonging to the Fielden Brothers. At this point they became known as the Bridge End Society.

In 1860 a further shop was opened at Walsden. It was in May 1861, following the death of James Hoyle, that they registered under the Friendly Societies acts. In 1864 they took a cottage at Bridge End for the use of a clogger. Also in 1864 they opened a drapery department and a news room. The news room was very successful and by 1876 they had 96 volumes. In 1867 efforts were made to amalgamate with Walsden Co-operative Society, however, these negotiations failed and the society opened a new branch at Walsden in Dec 1869. In 1873, when the new central premises were opened, the Society had a membership of 693. In 1874 the Society became members of the Co-operative Wholesale Society. 1878 saw the opening of a boot and shoe department, and in 1881 a butchery department. Further branches were opened at Knowlswood Road in 1899 and Copperas House in 1900.

In 1936 Walsden Co-operative Society joined with Bridge End. In 1956 Bridge End Equitable Progressionists' Society became part of the Co-operative Retail Service.

Source: 'Jubilee History of the Bridge End Co-operative Society Ltd from 1847-1901', by Fred Pickles (1902).