The City of London College was created in 1861, following the reconstruction of classes that were held by its immediate precursor institution, the Metropolitan Evening Classes For Young Men, which had opened in 1848. Over the next twenty years, the college, which at that time was based at Sussex Hall on Leadenhall Street, was one of the pioneers in the introduction of commercial and technical subjects, and in 1881 it opened new premises on White Street (near Moorgate) at the a cost of £16,000 (an amount that was met, in part, through contributions received from HRH Queen Victoria and the Prince of Wales).
In December 1940 the College's building was completely destroyed during an extensive air raid and classes were transferred, pro tem, to both the City Literary Institute and the Sir John Cass Technical Institute whilst a new home was sought. The College subsequently moved into premises at Electra House, 84 Moorgate (now the London Metropolitan University's Guildhall Faculty of Business and Law) in 1944. It celebrated its centenary in 1948 with a service of thanksgiving, led by the Archbishop of Canterbury, at St. Paul's Cathedral.
In 1970 the college merged with the Sir John Cass College to form the City of London Polytechnic.