In 1830, a drama society known as 'The Shakespeare Club' was established in Cambridge, England byMr W.H. Smith. Early disagreements resulted in some members leaving to set up the rival 'CambridgeGarrick Club' in about 1833. The club was named after David Garrick (1716-1779), actor, writer, andtheatre owner, and the theatrical club founded in London in 1831 that bore his name.
From the account books described here and The Album of the Cambridge Garrick Club,published in 1836, it is possible to piece together a little of the Club's activities. In 1836, theClub had 25 honorary members (including dramatist, James Sheridan Knowles, and theatrical managers,William Charles Macready and Charles Kemble), 15 patronesses, 9 life members, and 134 quarterly andannual subscribers. Members performed plays at theatres in Cambridge and other towns in East Angliaincluding Newmarket and Barnwell. It is not known where in Cambridge the club met to rehearse and toperform or when the club ceased its activities.