Printed prospectus for the Whittington Club and completed proposal form for Owen to be made a member. Owen has been proposed by a Mr Elizer Nash.
Prospectus of the Whittington Club and proposal for Owen's membership
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1499 ROC/26/22/7
- Dates of Creation27 Oct 1847
- Physical Description6 pages
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Whittington Club was named after Richard Whittington, the former "Lord Mayor of great London," and in one of its large rooms hung a picture of "Dick Whittington listening to the sound of Bow Bells," by Newenham, which was given to the club by its founder. The original premises of the "Crown and Anchor" were burnt down in 1854, but they were subsequently rebuilt on the former plan. The Whittington Club, however, languished, and at last came to an end in 1873.
Stamped number: 1521