Society records of the Methodist Church, Hessay Wesleyan Chapel

Scope and Content

Trustees' meetings minute book, 1876-1976; accounts, 1824-1903; analysis of circuit and church life questionnaire for Hessay Chapel, 1983; order of service for inauguration of local ecumenical project, 1988.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built on Main Street at Hessay in 1824. The land on which it was built may have been given by the Nottinghams, a prominent local Methodist family.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, in 1867 Hessay joined the new York, Wesley Circuit. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, the Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits merged and Hessay continued as part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion until 1981, when it joined York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 2013. A further addition was made to the archive in 2013.

Note

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built on Main Street at Hessay in 1824. The land on which it was built may have been given by the Nottinghams, a prominent local Methodist family.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, in 1867 Hessay joined the new York, Wesley Circuit. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, the Wesley and Victoria Bar Circuits merged and Hessay continued as part of an enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of what was now a single Methodist Connexion until 1981, when it joined York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received prior to 2013. Later material has not yet been listed.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York, Wesley Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and the York, Wesley and York, South Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of York Circuit form part of: Records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit (MRC/1). The records of both York, Wesley Circuits form a single archive: Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York, Wesley Circuit (MRC/2).

Additional Information

Published

GB193