General register containing baptisms 1727-1881, confirmations 1856-1882, catechumens 1832-1881 marriages 1804-1885 and burials 1813-1881, numbers of communicants 1828-1881, with figures recording the state of the congregation 1862-1864; routine correspondence regarding enquiries about baptisms etc. 1922-1934.
Records of St Ternan's Church, Muchalls
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 254 Br MS 10
- Dates of Creation1727-1934
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume (0.12 linear metres) The records are on paper. The register was conserved and rebound in 2000. A microfilm or scanned copy is now served to protect the original.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Episcopalians of Fetteresso parish were driven from the parish church in 1705 but established a meeting house at Muchalls Castle chapel a few years later. A second meeting house was established at Portlethen in 1738 but both were destroyed in 1746. The chapel was rebuilt above the castle in 1748, and again in 1770 and 1795. The present church was built in 1830 largely using funds collected by the local people, and dedicated to St Ternan in 1864. It is currently the northernmost church in the diocese.
Records are arranged chronologically.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the vestry of St Ternan's Church in 2001 (AccM/451).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, July 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
Microfilm copy and digital copy available in the archives. Digital copy available on CD-ROM at the church.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.