Parish records of Overton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1593-1649, 1653-1948 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1777-1809); register of marriages, 1593-1649, 1653-1934; register of burials, 1593-1649, 1653-1758, 1762-1962 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812, ages only from 1781); register of banns, 1824-1917; records concerning benefice income, including tithe correspondence, 1917-1918, and measurement of Vicars Ing, 1734; churchwardens’ records, including briefs, 1604-1628, 1686-1711, fabric papers, 1961-1968, and churchyard papers, 1967-1968.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Overton was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. It was given by King William II to Abbey and Convent of St Mary’s, York. It was appropriated to them, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1301. The village of Overton also served as the principal country residence of the Abbots of St Mary’s.

The advowson was held by the abbey until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it was granted by the Crown to Sir Thomas Heneage and subsequently followed the descent of the manor. It was held by the Bouchier family for some time, before passing to the Earle family who sold it to Viscount Downe in 1827. By the 1920s it was in the hands of the Dawneys of Beningbrough Hall.

The parish historically included Shipton and Shipton Smithy. The consecration of the church of Holy Evangelists at Shipton by Beningbrough took place on the 31st May 1849. An exchange of parts of the parish with Skelton occurred on the 15th Jan 1878.

Overton parish church, which was dedicated to St Cuthbert, was closed in the 1960s and demolished in 1969. Today Overton is part of the parish of Shipton with Overton within the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1973 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978 and 1982.

Note

The existence of a church at Overton was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. It was given by King William II to Abbey and Convent of St Mary’s, York. It was appropriated to them, and a vicarage ordained there, in 1301. The village of Overton also served as the principal country residence of the Abbots of St Mary’s.

The advowson was held by the abbey until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it was granted by the Crown to Sir Thomas Heneage and subsequently followed the descent of the manor. It was held by the Bouchier family for some time, before passing to the Earle family who sold it to Viscount Downe in 1827. By the 1920s it was in the hands of the Dawneys of Beningbrough Hall.

The parish historically included Shipton and Shipton Smithy. The consecration of the church of Holy Evangelists at Shipton by Beningbrough took place on the 31st May 1849. An exchange of parts of the parish with Skelton occurred on the 15th Jan 1878.

Overton parish church, which was dedicated to St Cuthbert, was closed in the 1960s and demolished in 1969. Today Overton is part of the parish of Shipton with Overton within the benefice of Skelton with Shipton and Newton on Ouse.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1982.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1593-1948, marriages, 1593-1934, and burials, 1593-1962, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 749).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193