- Brewing book, 1833–1834;
- Photographs, 1983;
- Historical notes, 1995–1996.
Records of Newington Brewery, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A brewery existed at the site of the Newington Brewery in Edinburgh, Scotland since at least 1828 , when its owner James Kerr was recorded as a brewer at 9 Sciennes, Edinburgh . James Kerr was sequestrated on 5 January 1848 and the Edinburgh brewer Charles Dick was named as trustee. Peter Jamieson , John Blair and David Robertson were named commissioners while Mr Robertson, the brewer at nearby Summerhall, was security. It is possible that William Younger & Co either took over the Newington Brewery assets and custom or that a brewer from Newington was subsequently employed at one of the Younger breweries. After the brewery had failed the buildings were converted into a whisky distillery by Andrew Pearson and named West Sciennes. The name Newington was given to the site in 1850 when Andrew Pearson was sequestrated. The building became the Glen Sciennes distillery of Thomas Duncanson & Co from 1856-1859 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
The brewing journal was deposited by Scottish & Newcastle plc in October 1995.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The brewing book was found among records formerly held at William Younger's Holyrood Brewery. It was not recorded how the brewing book came into William Younger's possession. The archive moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
Topen, Alma, 'Newington Brewery', Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter No. 26, (Winter 1995/96).
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 7 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 21 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 20 February 2002.