Scope and Content

This collection includes a minute book of Elders meetings; a pamphlet: 'Brief History of Bagillt URC' by M. Needham; correspondence, papers and photographs of Bagillt U.R.C.

N/100/4/1 contains personal information under the Data Protection Act. Access is restricted until 2083.

Administrative / Biographical History

An iron chapel in Bagillt was opened on 7th November 1877, as the Bagillt Congregational Church. After about 15 years, the iron chapel was considered too dangerous to be used as a place of worship, and a new brick building was constructed. The foundation stones were laid on 18th August 1894. This chapel continued to serve as the English Congregational Church until the formation, in 1972, of the United Reformed Church, which built on the traditions of three previous denominations: English Presbyterians, English, Welsh and Scottish Congregationalists, and members of the Churches of Christ. Due to a decline in membership and funds, the Bagillt United Reformed Church was closed as a certified place of worship in 2008.

Access Information

N/100/4/1 contains personal information. Access is restricted until 2084.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in the searchroom.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright restrictions apply.

Appraisal Information

All records deposited at Flintshire Record Office have been retained.