The first log book for Ponciau Board School, Rhosllanerchrugog starts in 1896,all of the schools records previous to the 21st October 1896 were destroyed in a fire which took place on 24th June 1928 during alterations to the school building.
In November 1896 the boys and girls from the infants school were transferred to the boys and girls department.
In 1897 there were 270 pupils on the roll of Ponciau Board School and there was an issue with overcrowding despite an extention to the Infant's school (ED/LB/92/1).
In August 1918, 98 children were transferred to the boys and girls department and on 13th April 1920, 41 boys and 38 girls were transferred (ED/LB/92/1).
In 1974 uncapped coal pits were discovered under the school and the girls and infants were moved onto a temporary site in Broad St. Rhosllanerchrugog. After 7 weeks at the temporary site, 300 pupils returned to Ponciau school which at this time was using temporary prefabricated buildings as a result of the discovered mine shafts.
In 2007 Ysgol Ponciau closed ans was replaced by Ysgol Maes y Mynydd.
This collection consists of 1 log book, a set of accounts, 1 plan and a punishment book.
25" O.S. map (1900-1912) A school/schools in Ponciau is shown on sheet 32-2 between Clarke Street and School Lane.
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
CD/A/4/206, Plan, 1965.
NTD/517, Photograph of Ponciau Infant School teachers.
PPD/923/12, Photograph of Ponciau Boys School n.d.[c.1920].
PPD/92/41, Photograph of Ponciau school teachers, 1902.