- Minute Books 1923-1963;
- Constitution and Rules c1955;
- Photographs 1934-1963;
- 'Personal Property of Students' Insurance forms 1976;
- Wooden Plaque 1969-1970.
University of Glasgow : Maclay Hall of Residence, student hall of residence, University of Glasgow, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 UGC 024
- Dates of Creation1923-1963
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1.88 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Maclay Hall of Residence (17 Park Terrace) was donated to the University by Sir Joseph and Lady Maclay in 1921 and was formally opened in the session 1922-23 with a capactiy for 34 male students. It is dedicated to the memory of their two sons who fell in the First World War. In the beginning the residents were mostly ex-servicemen, and it was from this first batch of men that Finlay MacDonald Urquhart emerged and contributed greatly to the expansion of Maclay Hall. Urquhart was Warden from 1927 unitl his death in active service in 1943. During this time he engineered the incorporation of 16 Park Terrace, as well as raising the finances to build a sports annexe, including a gym and squash courts.The hall was designed to promote character through study and physical exercise. The number of students rose to 90 by the 1930s and Urquhart introduced a system of 'recognitions' whereby financial incentives were given for good academic and athletic performances. It was Urquhart too that persuaded Miss Ida S H Brown to become Hall matron in 1937; a position she held for 33 years.
The Hall was further extended by the addition of Strain Hall (18 Park Terrace) bequeathed in 1936 by Mr W Strain, Fergusson Hall (19 Park Terrace) bequeathed in 1957 by Mrs Helen M E Fergusson, and adjoining properties at 15 and 20 Park Terrace. 21 Park Terrace was donated by the Barclay family in 1975 . It could now accomodate 200 pupils, male and female, from all faculties.
The original premises of 16-17 Park Terrace were given up by the University in the 1960s as they needed major renovation work. However the remaining Maclay Hall buildings were still in use and managed by 4 Governors appointed by the University Court. They operated in unison with a student committee, which was elected annually by the residents.
In the session 2004-2005 Maclay Hall was sold for private development. The last students moved out of their rooms in December 2004.
Chronologically within record series
Deposit (minute books) : Steve Johnson, Accomodation Officer, University of Glasgow : 1979 : ACCN 0057
Deposit (photographs, constitution, insurance forms and wooden plaque) : Barbara Leyden, Manager, Maclay Hall of Residence, University of Glasgow : December 2004 : ACCN 2690
Other Finding Aids
A digital copy and a paper copy in the search room.
Alternative Form Available
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
Location of Originals
This collection is original
No known publications.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Fonds level description compiled by Kathryn Mackenzie, Archive Volunteer, 08 March 2005
Amended by Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist (Cataloguing), 09 January 2008
Amended by Kirsty Menzies, Data Assistant, 06 April 2017.