- Register of members and share ledger 1946
Records of Cambrian Quarrying Co Ltd, quarrymasters, London, England
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cambrian Quarrying Co Ltd was incorporated as a limited liability company in 1946 with its registered offices in Park Lane, London, England. The company's first directors were all members of the McAlpine family and connected to Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons , civil engineering contractors, London, England. They were, Robin, Robert Edwin, Malcolm and Hugh Dees McAlpine. Of the share capital of 100 shares in the company, each valued at £1, each director held a single share with the remaining being held by Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons (South Wales) Ltd , a civil engineering subsidiary company of Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons which operated contracts on behalf of the parent company in South Wales. It was common for the McAlpine companies to lease or take over regional quarries in order to obtain the raw materials for their engineering projects, which was the case with the Cambrian Quarrying Co Ltd . It is unknown as to what happened to the company after 1946 .
The material has been arranged into series as shown in the scope and content. Within series, items are generally arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposit : Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons Ltd : 1985
Other Finding Aids
Digital and manual file level lists of the surviving records of Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons Ltd, subsidiaries and related companies are available in the searchroom ref: UGD 254
Manual file level list available at the National Registers of Archives in Edinburgh (NRA(S) 3111) and London (NRA32523)
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures
Held by Sir Robert McAlpine & Sons Ltd, Kettering. Transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 1985 during the preparation of the company history.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Compiled by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 31 January 2003
No alterations made to date