- Ledgers, 1850–1948;
- Minutes and correspondence, 1860–1872, 1947–1961;
- Financial records, 1906–1962;
- Brewing records, 1952-1961;
- Public house records, 1953–1961;
- Plant and machinery, 1875;
- Internal publications, 1935;
- Labour records, 1941–1962;
- Photographs, undated.
Records of John Jeffrey & Co Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 JJ
- Dates of Creation1850-1970
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3.60 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
A brewery was reputedly operating on Heriot Bridge, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland , from the early sixteenth century. By 1800 the brewery was owned by Baillie Gordon , trading as Gordon & Hume , and in about 1820 it was acquired by Buchan & Co . Thomas Stewart took over the brewery in about 1830 , followed by John Jeffrey and his younger brother David in 1837 , trading under the name of John Jeffrey & Co . The Grassmarket site soon became cramped and land was purchased in 1865 at Roseburn, on the western outskirts of Edinburgh , where new maltings, an ale store and a cooperage were built. A new brewhouse was added to the Roseburn site in 1880 but brewing continued at the Heriot Brewery until 1900 when the site was sold to Heriot–Watt College for GBP 2,500. The firm was one of the pioneers of lager brewing in Scotland and had a large export trade and tied trade in Scotland and northern England, with deposits in Glasgow, Scotland , Newcastle–upon–Tyne, England and Manchester, England . John Jeffrey & Co Ltd was registered in July 1934 as a private limited liability company to acquire the business. The company acquired Edinburgh United Breweries Ltd in 1935 and was converted into a public company in 1938 . It supplied ale to James Calder Co Ltd , Alloa, Scotland , from 1951 and a new bottling plant was built at Sighthill, Edinburgh , in 1955 . In February 1960 the company merged with Hammonds United Breweries Ltd , Bradford, West Yorkshire, England , and Hope and Anchor Breweries Ltd , Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England , through Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd , York and London, England . United Breweries Ltd , as Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd was renamed, merged with Charrington United Breweries Ltd , London. Brewing continued at Heriot Brewery until its closure in the 1990s .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive's pre–1991 classification scheme used within all SBA collections. It is scheduled for re–cataloguing according to the post–1991 classification scheme.
Conditions Governing Access
Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), The Brewing Industry. A Guide to Historical Records , (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990).
McMaster, Charles and Rutherford, Tom, The Tennent Caledonian Breweries , (1985); McMaster, Charles, 'John Jeffrey & Company Ltd, The Heriot Brewers', Edinburgh Scottish Brewing Archive Newsletter , No 15, (Autumn 1989).
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 07 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 21 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 5 February 2002.