Chirk Rural District Council, Denbighshire, was created under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1894. The rural district originally included the parishes of Chirk and Llansilin. In 1897, Llansilin was removed and Glyntraian and Llansanffraid Glyn Ceiriog were transferred from Llangollen rural district. In 1935, the district was absorbed into the new Ceiriog rural district. The council comprised councillors and a chairman, elected for three years. They originally took over responsibility for local sanitation from the local sanitary authorities and their responsibilities included sanitary services, sewerage, refuse collection, maintaining local roads, cemeteries, parks, and licensing of public entertainments, water supply and later housing. Rural District Councils were administered by a number of committees and by appointed officers including a Clerk, Treasurer, Public Health Inspector, Housing Officer, Surveyor and Rating Officer.
Scope and content: Records of Chirk Rural District Council and related bodies, 1867-1953, comprising Clerk's department records, 1895-1935, including minutes, 1895-1934, agenda papers, 1908-1925, letters and letter books, 1895-1935, and records relating to the National Registration Act 1915, 1915-1919; records of the Treasurer's Department, 1895-1953, including ledgers, 1908-1935, statements, 1895-1935, accounts, 1897-1935, housing accounts records, 1920-1953; Rating Officer's records, 1867-1935, including valuation lists, 1867-1934, and rate books, 1873-1932; Public Health Inspector's reports, registers and housing inspection records, 1897-1944; and Medical Officer of Health's annual reports, 1898-1934.