Typographical Association

Scope and Content

Various series of minutes, 1849-1965; various series of reports, 1850-1963; Monthly Circular, 1852-1967; selected correspondence files, 1949-66; members' and reference registers, circulars, rule books, memorials re wages and hours, 1863-1919. National Typographical Association: Midland district minutes, 1845-48 (MSS.39/TA/1/1/1). The Typographical Association rule book collection (MSS 39D/TA) includes the following South Wales items: South Wales group rules, 1950 and undated (MSS 39D/TA/12-13), branch rule books for: Aberdare, 1952; Cardiff, 1949 and 1959; Newport, 1952; Pontypool, 1950; Rhondda Valleys, 1961 and Swansea, 1948 (MSS 39D/TA/4/6) and the South Wales Typographical Association, fair list (of firms employing union members), undated booklet (MSS 39D/TA/4/8/25)

Additional correspondence files deposited as MSS.39C (1949-1961), and MSS.39H (1962)

Administrative / Biographical History

The Provincial Typographical Association was established in 1849 by delegates from across Yorkshire and Lancashire who met at Angel Street in Sheffield. It was a successor to the Northern Typographical Union (1830-1844) and the National Typographical Association (1844-1848). In 1877 it merged with a related relief association and dropped "Provincial" from its title. In 1963 it amalgamated with the London Typographical Society to form the National Graphical Association. In 1991 the Association amalgamated with the Society of Graphical and Allied Trades to form the Graphical, Paper and Media Union.

Access Information

This collection is available to researchers by appointment at the Modern Records Centre, University of Warwick. See http://www2.warwick.ac.uk/services/library/mrc/using/

Other Finding Aids

Related Material

National Graphical Association; Society of Graphical and Allied Trades; Amalgamated Society of Lithographic Printers; London Typographical Society; London Society of Compositors