Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Layerthorpe Methodist Chapel (Duke of York Street Mission)

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1905-1954; register of marriages, 1920-1921, with related papers, 1919, 1957, 1960; records of Trustees, including minutes of meetings, 1896-1963, treasurer’s account books, 1877-1962; Society Steward’s account book, 1876-1906; collections journal, 1944-1954; property records, including feoffment of ground outside Layerthorpe Postern, 1822, mortgages and probate extract relating to Layerthorpe Trust, 1853-1936, correspondence concerning City Council’s development plan for Layerthorpe, 1952, correspondence concerning ownership of premises, 1959-1960, and correspondence concerning the demolition of the chapel, 1960-1961; Sunday School records, including school leaders’ meeting minute books, 1924-1955, annual report, 1938, treasurer’s account book, 1924-1956, and journal, 1957-1959; Missionary Society account book, 1954-1960; photograph of group in Mission Chapel, early 20th century.

Administrative / Biographical History

Layerthorpe Methodist Chapel was created as a Primitive Methodist mission chapel situated in Duke of York Street, York, giving the chapel its alternate name of the Duke of York Street Mission. In 1877 two houses with a large yard had been purchased in this street and the chapel was built in the yard and opened the following year. It could accommodate 190 people and was also used as a Sunday School.

By 1900 the chapel had a membership of 68. It was initially part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion until 1883 when the Circuit was split into two and Layerthorpe joined the new First Circuit, renamed York, Monkgate Circuit in 1903.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, Layerthorpe Chapel became part of the new York, Monkgate Circuit of the unified Methodist Connexion and joined the York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit in 1957.

Layerthorpe Chapel was demolished in the early 1960s to create a new commercial area.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1997. A further addition was made to the archive in 1997.

Note

Layerthorpe Methodist Chapel was created as a Primitive Methodist mission chapel situated in Duke of York Street, York, giving the chapel its alternate name of the Duke of York Street Mission. In 1877 two houses with a large yard had been purchased in this street and the chapel was built in the yard and opened the following year. It could accommodate 190 people and was also used as a Sunday School.

By 1900 the chapel had a membership of 68. It was initially part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion until 1883 when the Circuit was split into two and Layerthorpe joined the new First Circuit, renamed York, Monkgate Circuit in 1903.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, Layerthorpe Chapel became part of the new York, Monkgate Circuit of the unified Methodist Connexion and joined the York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit in 1957.

Layerthorpe Chapel was demolished in the early 1960s to create a new commercial area.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 14.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York First (Monkgate) Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion and the Monkgate and Clifton & Monkgate Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The first three form a single archive: Records of the Methodist Church, York (Monkgate) Circuit.

Additional Information

Published

GB193