The collection consists of one framed item, measuring 72 cm x 100 cm:
Printed copy of a detailed black and white tracing of the 1635 map of Laxton and Laxton Moorhouse; shows each separate piece of land (including strips in the open fields), with their numbers on the corresponding survey; the map is decorated with apparently accurate images of buildings including the church and the village houses, images of animals grazing such as cattle, sheep and horses, and illustrations of people undertaking agricultural activities such as ploughing, broadcast sowing, haymaking and gleaning;
Other parts of the original map have also been traced, including the compass rose, the coat of arms of Sir William Courten, the scale of chains (decorated with an image of measuring compasses and the date '1635'), and the introductory text by Mark Pierce, beginning 'A plat and description of the whole mannor & Lordship of Laxton with Laxton Moorehouse in ye county of Nottingham and also of the mannor & Lordship of Kneesall lying adiacent to ye aforesaid mannor of Laxton...' (n.b. the section of the original map showing Kneesall has not been included in this tracing);
The map and each of the decorative items have been cut out separately and mounted on a large plain sheet of paper; the whole item has then been framed in a wooden frame.