Records of Forth and Clyde Roperie Co Ltd, rope and twine manufacturers, Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

  • Wages books, Manilla and Ropewalk Mills, 1918-1937;
  • Wages books, West Bridge Mills, 1937-1943;
  • Wages book, Forth and Clyde Works, 1937-1941.

Administrative / Biographical History

West Bridge Mills of Forth and Clyde Roperie began as a flax spinning mill by F and W Hendry, founded in 1806. Forth and Clyde Roperie Co had been in existence since at least 1918, and was incorporated as a limited company in 1951. In 1998, the company changed its name to Lamont Fabrics Ltd, a private limited company, and was dissolved in 2004. After lying derelict for 10 years, the West Bridge Mill was converted by the Link Housing Association into The Foyer, to provide accommodation for 44 people, office suites, training and seminar facilities, restaurant, job club and creche.

In 1920, Hugh Joyce was tried for culpable homicide committed at the Forth & Clyde Roperie Company, Horse Wynd, Kirkcaldy. The trial papers are at the National Records for Scotland, references AD15/20/142 and JC26/1920/5.

Sources: Companies House website; http://www.nas.gov.uk/; http://canmore.rcahms.gov.uk/en/site/52941/details/kirkcaldy+bridgeton+west+bridge+mill/; http://www.britishlistedbuildings.co.uk/sc-36397-bridge-street-the-foyer-west-bridge-mill-

Arrangement

Arranged into 3 series

Conditions Governing Access

Restricted access due for data protection. Closed for 75 years.

Acquisition Information

Unknown, but probably deposited in early 1990s

Other Finding Aids

None.

Alternative Form Available

No known copies

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

None which affect the use of this material

Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist.

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents

Appraisal Information

This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures

Custodial History

With company until deposit in GUAS

Accruals

None expected

Related Material

National Records of Scotland, AD15/20/142 and JC26/1920/5 papers relating to the trial of Hugh Joyce, 1920; Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historic Monuments of Scotland, Edinburgh hold photographs of the mill.

Location of Originals

This material is original

Bibliography

No known publications using this material

Additional Information

Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names

Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.

Fonds level description compiled by Alma Topen, Senior Assistant Archivist (Cataloguing) 17 January 2013. Lower level description compiled by Alma Topen, Senior Assistant Archivist (Cataloguing) 3 Mar 2011. Edited by Emma Anthony, Business Archives Cataloguer, 28 January 2013.

Geographical Names