The landing book covers the period 30 September to 26 October 1825 and contains information aboutboats using the canal. The pages of the book are printed as forms permitting entries of two boatsper page. The entries record the date, name of permit holder and boat, the species of cargo (usuallycoal), where on the canal the boat landed, where it was originally loaded, weights, distancetravelled, rate charged, and the payment due.
Landing book of the Cromford Canal Company, Derbyshire, 1825
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 176
- Dates of Creation1825
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In July 1789, Parliament authorised the construction of the Cromford Canal to link the ErewashCanal at Langley Mill to Sir Richard Arkwright's cotton mill at Cromford. The canal was opened inJuly 1794. The canal was also used for the transportation of local coal, limestone and ironstone,farm produce and passenger boats. The canal opened with a branch to Pinxton Mill, and the privatelyowned Lea Wood branch was opened in 1802. After years of success and profitability, the CromfordCanal Company sold the canal to the Manchester Buxton Matlock and Midlands Junction Railway Companyin 1847 which took over the running of the canal in 1852. All but a half mile stretch of theCromford Canal was officially closed in 1944.
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only finding aid available for the collection and copyright on the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.
Collections relating to the company held elsewhere are recorded on the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email email@example.com). TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.
The book was acquired by The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts in October1967. The surviving records of the Cromford Canal Company are extensive and are held in a number ofdifferent archives including the Public Record Office and Derbyshire Record Office. This volume isthe only item relating to the company that is held by the University of Nottingham.