Baxter Brothers & Co Ltd, linen and jute spinners and manufacturers, Dundee

Scope and Content

Minute books 1873-1966, letter books 1898-1929, register of members 1930-1948, ledgers 1807-1815, 1853-1973, journals 1853-1955, balance books 1832-1949, miscellaneous financial records 1806-1974, wages books 1841-1959, production books 1841-1927, contract and order books 1898-1952, quotations and estimates 1850-1971, inventories and valuations 1853-1975, miscellaneous technical records 1833-c.1930, mill manager's history of flax spinning c.1866, representatives' reports 1926-1963, miscellaneous papers including genealogical notes on Baxter family 1795-1986, plans c.1820-1963 and technical drawings 1850-1957 [368], photographs 1833-1980 [145].

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1818 William Baxter leased a flax spinning mill at Glamis and in 1822, in partnership with his eldest son Edward, built his first mill on the Dens Burn in Dundee. In 1825, when Edward left the company, two younger sons were assumed as partners and the firm's name was changed from William Baxter and Son to Baxter Brothers and Co. In 1853, a new partnership agreement was drawn up which included Peter Carmichael, an engineer and manager of Upper Dens Mill. In 1856 William Ogilvie Dalgleish, who married a granddaughter of William Baxter, was admitted as a partner and new partnership agreements were also drawn up in 1873 and in 1879.

The firm was incorporated as a private limited company in 1892 when a majority holding was acquired in Boase and Co. Ltd, bleachers Claverhouse. In 1921 Boase and Co. Ltd, became a wholly owned subsidiary and in 1929 Baxter's acquired Richard Hayward & Sons (1929) Ltd. In the meantime Baxter Brothers and Co. Ltd, had become part of the Low & Bonar group established in 1924. The firm continued to trade as a manufacturing unit within the Low and Bonar group until 1978.


Records are arranged chronologically within series. The drawings that were housed in plan drawers in the drawing office have been maintained in their original order with the original reference number. The drawings that were housed in the safe of the old drawing office at Dens Works were stored as rolls and the original number, where it existed, has been noted.

Access Information

Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.

Acquisition Information

The records were deposited by Low & Bonar between 1975 and 1990 (AccM/12, AccM/75, AccM/77, AccM/80, AccM/83, AccM/108, AccM/111, AccM/118, AccM/266a).


Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, August 2001.

Other Finding Aids

Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.

Alternative Form Available

No known copies.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.

Custodial History

This collection contains technical drawings and plans of a number of different provenances, brought together in one list.


None expected.

Related Material

GB 254 MS 10 Boase & Co Ltd, Claverhouse Bleachfield, Dundee

GB 254 MS 24 Low & Bonar Ltd, jute spinners, manufacturers and merchants, Dundee

GB 254 MS 74 Richard Hayward & Sons Ltd, Canvas and Twine Manufacturers & Merchants, Merriot, Somerset


Baxters of Dundee, published by Dundee Department of Extra-Mural Education, 1980

Geographical Names