Parish records of South Milford

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1846-1928; register of marriages, 1847-1940; register of burials, 1847-1998; register of services, 1908-1958; register of communicants, 1902-1907; records concerning benefice income, including tithe grant, 1858, land exchange, 1859, and papers, 1860; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1916-1949, and fabric papers, 1878, 1898, 1963; records of incumbents, including accounts for church history lectures, 1892; Vestry/Parochial Church Council minutes of meetings, 1920-1952.

Administrative / Biographical History

South Milford was a chapelry within the parish of Sherburn in Elmet until 1859, when it separated to form an independent parish. The new church, which was dedicated to St Mary the Virgin, had been consecrated in 1846 by the Bishop of Ripon. The site was donated by University College, Oxford, and Benjamin Crosland of Milford House.

The church was designed by George Fowler Jones and built by Benjamin Bulmer of Thorp Arch. The pulpit was carved by Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson and given to the church in 1954 by the Crosland family. A new organ chamber and choir vestry was added in 1899.

A rectory was built in 1866 and then replaced in 1966. It was sold in 1985 when the parish merged with that of Monk Fryston. The new rectory is situated in Hillam.

Today the parish is part of the united benefice of Monk Fryston and South Milford.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1985. A further addition was made to the archive in 1999.

Note

South Milford was a chapelry within the parish of Sherburn in Elmet until 1859, when it separated to form an independent parish. The new church, which was dedicated to St Mary the Virgin, had been consecrated in 1846 by the Bishop of Ripon. The site was donated by University College, Oxford, and Benjamin Crosland of Milford House.

The church was designed by George Fowler Jones and built by Benjamin Bulmer of Thorp Arch. The pulpit was carved by Robert ‘Mouseman’ Thompson and given to the church in 1954 by the Crosland family. A new organ chamber and choir vestry was added in 1899.

A rectory was built in 1866 and then replaced in 1966. It was sold in 1985 when the parish merged with that of Monk Fryston. The new rectory is situated in Hillam.

Today the parish is part of the united benefice of Monk Fryston and South Milford.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1846-1885, and marriages, 1847-1885, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 785).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193