Minutes books 1874-1886, 1904-1935; draft minutes 1871-1904; register of receipts for burial rights, fees, etc and notices to gravediggers and ministers; cash books 1883-1906, 1917-1951; registers of fees 1883-1904 and 1924-1933; grants of rights of burial 1886-1892, 1900-1921, 1933-1936, 1940-1951; Maesteg Cemetery registers of burials 1883-1943; registers of graves 1883-1919; register of purchased graves 1886-1938; register of burials for war service 1939-1944; and cemetery indexes 1883-1943.
Llangynwyd Burial Board Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llangynwyd Burial Board was formally constituted in 1874 but it was not until 1883 that the Board opened a cemetery situated in Maesteg, Glamorgan. Under the Local Government Act 1894, the extensive area covered by the Llangynwyd Burial Board was divided for local government purposes into Maesteg Urban District Council, Llagynwyd Middle Parish Council and Llangynwyd Lower Parish Council; a small area was transferred to Glyncorrwg Urban District Council. The Board was dissolved by the Local Government Board in November 1895 and reconstituted in June 1896 as a Joint Burial Board with representatives of each of these authorities. The Board was taken over by Maesteg Urban District Council in July 1951
Ogwr District Council and Bridgend County Borough Council
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available at Glamorgan Archives.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Good to fair condition
Compiled by Richard Morgan for Glamorgan Archives
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records passed in 1951 to Maesteg UDC and in 1974 to Ogwr District Council which transferred part of it (BUBLLA/1-7) to Glamorgan Record Office after 1974. The remaining records (BUBLLA/8-12) were transferred to Glamorgan Archives by Bridgend County Borough Council.
Accruals are not expected.