Records of Colwyn Bay and Llandudno English Methodist Circuit

Scope and Content

In 1885 the Colwyn Bay Methodist Circuit consisted of societies at Colwyn Bay, Conwy and Llanrwst. The circuit developed as followed:

1888 St John's Chapel, Colwyn Bay, opened

1899 Greenfield Road Chapel used by English Wesleyans

1904 Old Colwyn Society founded

1905 Nant-y-Glyn Road Chapel opened to supercede Greenfield Road Chapel

1909 Old Colwyn Chapel opened

1916 Llanrwst left circuit

1916 Rhos-on-Sea Society founded

1923 Rhos-on-Sea Chapel opened

1932 Circuit combined with Llandudno Circuit (St John's and St David's) to form Colwyn Bay and Llandudno Circuit

1943 Abergele Society founded

This collection was originally in 2 parts CD26 and CD27 but when a later accession came to be added the material was so intertwined it was decided to amalgamate the collections.

Administrative / Biographical History

CD14 combines the collections CD26 & CD27 into a new catalogue.

Both CD26 & CD27 refer to the Colwyn Bay and Llandudno English Methodist Circuit.

CD27 was transferred from Caernarfonshire Record Office

CD26 was transferred from Denbighshire Record Office

Due to when the original collections were catalogued these have flat references.

Many additional deposits have subsequently been made, the majority of which have been added on to the end of the original catalogues.

This created an unwieldy, non-user friendly collection of catalogues.

As such on 23/5/2014 the entire collection was intellectually reorganised to ISAD(G) standards under the Conwy Archive Service catalogue reference CD26.

Due to the shear quantity of records, it was deemed impractical to re-number every item and box. Therefore the Alt Ref field in CALM has been used alongside the updated Calm Catalogue Reference Number field to record the original numbering. For search purposes this field needs to be referred to.

Access Information

This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see

Custodial History

Prior to 1996 and the formation of Conwy County Borough Council, as the circuit was split between two counties (Gwynedd formerly Caernarfonshire & Clwyd formerly Denbigshire), the collection was split between Gwynedd Archives and Clwyd Record Office (now Denbighshire Archives).

In 1996 the former Caernarfonshire Section and Denbighshire Section of the Colwyn Bay and Llandudno Methodist Circuit were transfered from their prespective record offices to the newly formed Conwy Archive Service.