Grant by the prior and convent of St Peter of Petyrstone [Peterstone] to William Yelverton of a piece of land in Westlexham [West Lexham, Norfolk].
Peterstone Priory in Burnham Overy (Norfolk)
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 133 RYCH/53
- Dates of Creation5 Jan 1429
- Language of MaterialLatin
- Physical Description1 item.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The priory of St Peter of Peterstone was founded as a house or hospital under the Austin rule, towards the close of the twelfth century. When a crown return of the appropriated churches of the diocese was called for in 1416, the reply from Peterstone Priory was that they had held the rectory of West Lexham since 1229, but that they were in sore straits from the results of the pestilence of 1349, the inundation of 1378, and the still more serious inundation of 1387. Source: Victoria County History of Norfolk, vol. 2 (1906), p. 391.
Rylands accession no. R29857. Purchased by the John Rylands Library from the Manchester bookseller P.M. Barnard for £3 10s in March 1912.