Also known as Llwydgoed Board/Council, CP School.
Bryn y maen school was established during the 1870s at the Carmel Chapel.
The first log book dated 7th March 1879 states that the school had 45 mixed juniors and infants on roll and its head teacher was W.E. Williams. Shortly after the newly built school and house foundations were laid, and, at a cost of £800, were completed by 1881 ( ED/LB/12/1, pg 18). The previous chapel accommodation was deemed unsuitable by the school inspector's report of May 1880.
The inspector's report of May 1883 refers to the school's name as Llandrillo Llwydgoed Board School and by December 1889 the new Head teacher was William Hughes. The inspector's report of 1906 (ED/LB/ 12/2, page 20) refers to Llwydgoed Council School and as referred to in the previous decades school attendance was always an issue with many periods of school closure due to illness and disease.
From the end of the First World War and into the 1920s the school was affected by the influenza epidemic. By 1922 there were 46 pupils on roll. In 1925 William Hughes retired after 36 years as head teacher but died in the November. Mr J Hayward took over and was head teacher until 1938.
By February 1970 there were just 19 pupils on roll and the North Wales Weekly News reported on a threat of closure for the school. Head teacher Mr Eryl Frances and local people successfully campaigned to keep the school open but by January 1986 it was again under threat of closure as reported in the North Wales Weekly News.
The school first had electricity by 1960 and was finally on the main water supply by 1961.
The school celebrated its centenary in 1981.
In 1964 the extensions to the school building included a new block with indoor toilets for the first time.
Carmel Chapel then newly built school 1880-81 - Bryn-y-Maen LL28 5EP
Collection consists of log books and accounts.
CD/A/4/183- Plan of school, 1974
DD/DM/823/1 - Bryn-y-Maen WI Scrapbook - Then And Now - 'School' Section
DD/DM 1123/482-3 - Local History Notes
Related material held at other locations-
Conwy Archives - CONWY/E/1 - Llwydgoed Board/CP School 1930 - 1996