Copy memorandum of agreement between Brynhenllys Colliery Company and their employees concerning the weight of trams and mode of tipping 1903 and amendment to agreement 1906; price list and amendment 1904.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Brynhenllis Colliery (sometimes spelt Brynhenllys) was opened in c1872 by the Brynhenllis Colliery Company. This company was associated to the Monmouthshire and South Wales Coal Owners Association. The colliery was an anthracite drift mine located near Cwmllynfell and consisted of the Old or LowerSlant, the Top Slant and a pumping pit.
The Brynhenllis Anthracite Colliery Company operated the colliery from 1925. After Nationalisation in 1947the colliery came under the National Coal Board's South Western Division's Area No. 1. A second slant was developed.
Brynhenllis Colliery was closed in 1955.
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Conditions Governing Use
Reprographic: No publication without written permission from the Archivist.