Newspaper cuttings relating to University College Nottingham, 1897-1944

Scope and Content

This collection of newspaper cuttings comes from a variety of newspapers including the 'Nottingham Guardian', the 'Nottingham Daily Express', and the 'Nottingham Evening Post', although many have been cut so that the newspaper is not now identifiable. Dates of publication have in most cases been written onto the cuttings in black ink. Although the collection dates from 1897 to 1944, only those items dated between 1910 and 1925 relate to University College Nottingham. The subject of the cuttings is as follows:

Visit of the Manchester Field Naturalists and Archaeologists' Society to Lichfield. 'The Manchester City News', 8 May 1897 (MS 144/1)

Resignation of Principal Symes; proposed appointment of a professor of English Literature; results of college students and the failure of many of them to matriculate; proposals to re-organise the college and turn it into a University; appointments of Dr T.P. Black as Registrar, and Professor Heaton as Principal; many letters from 'Civis', critical of the college and its funding by Nottingham Corporation. 8 Dec. 1910 - Aug. 1911 (MS 144/2-24)

Report on research work carried out at University College Nottingham. 14-23 Sep. 1911 (MS 144/25-27)

Retirement of Sir Joseph Bright, Chairman of the Council of University College Nottingham. 7 Feb. 1912 (MS 144/28)

Scheme for reconstitution of University College Nottingham. 23 Jun. 1913 (MS 144/29)

Improvement Schemes for the city of Nottingham. 18 Nov. 1919 (MS 144/30)

The proposed scheme for establishing a University for the East Midlands; objections by Leicester; need for a Charter. 14 Jan. - 18 May 1920 (MS 144/31-37)

Proposed theological lectureship at the University for the East Midlands. 15 Sep. 1920 (MS 144/38)

The financial position of University College Nottingham, and the grants given by Nottingham Corporation. 1-5 Oct. 1920 (MS 144/39-40)

Agreement relating to establishment of a University; Sir Jesse Boot's gift to the college; the annual report for 1920. 17 Dec. 1920 and n.d. (MS 144/41-42)

Scheme for the new University; Sir Jesse Boot's gift; proposed Charter. 28 Jul. 1921 (MS 144/43)

The new University College buildings; successes of College students; Annual Meeting of the Court of Governors. n.d. and 21 Dec. 1923 (MS 144/43-46)

College accounts. 1 Jan. 1925 (MS 144/47)

Antiquarian query relating to 'candle auctions' for cattle. 19 Feb. 1944 (MS 144/48)

Administrative / Biographical History

University College Nottingham opened in Shakespeare Street, Nottingham in 1881 to accommodate University of Cambridge extension lectures that had been held in the town since 1873. The new college received funding from the Corporation of Nottingham and a number of private subscribers. In the first year, 381 day students, 623 evening students and 346 students of government science classes were taught by a staff of four professors (Literature, Physics, Chemistry and Natural Science), six lecturers and demonstrators, and twelve government science teachers. The staff were required to improvise on a wide range of subjects. The level of the early courses was below university standard and previous experience was not required to study some subjects. The college was divided into two departments: Arts and Science. The age of admission began as 14 but was later raised to 16. Most of the students who attended the college in the opening years were working towards Cambridge certificates or London matriculation.

Growing student numbers after the First World War made expansion necessary. The college's pursuit of university status began in earnest in 1918 with the establishment of a reconstitution committee to work out plans for securing a charter for a university in the East Midlands, centred on the college. A conference of leading educationalists in the area was summoned in 1919 and a committee was appointed to investigate what steps to take. A Senate sub-committee was also set up to promote the work of the college in order to enlist local support. Ultimately, resistance from Leicester College (now Leicester University) ended the notion of an East Midlands university. It was a series of generous donations made by industrialist Sir Jesse Boot from 1920 that provided the necessary catalyst. Sir Jesse Boot provided funding and land to the west of the city for this purpose. Boot's Highfields estate became University Park, the college's main campus. The foundation stone for the new campus at Highfields was laid by Viscount Haldane in June 1922.

What is now known as Trent building, designed by Morley Horder, was opened by His Majesty King George V on 10 July 1928. The college was granted a Royal Charter in 1948 and became The University of Nottingham with authority to issue its own degrees.

The compiler of this collection of newspaper cuttings, relating to many of the issues outlined above, is not known.


The collection has been arranged into chronological order

Access Information

Accessible to all registered readers.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in the description belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements


Conditions Governing Use

Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email

Custodial History

The collection was given to the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts in July 1960.

Related Material

Records of University College Nottingham (Ref: UCN).