Documents (mostly letters) relating to Hucks Boat Yard in Hampton. Many of the letters regard legal and planning matters.
Hucks Boat Yard
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 DC13
- Dates of Creation1921 - 2004
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 box
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Swiss Chalet building was erected from a pre-fabricated building from Switzerland in 1880 by Henry Osborne O'Hagan as a boat house, he later built the boatyard nearby, around 1915, to refurbish vessels. The boatyard was expanded by Frank Hucks, who later bought it in 1923. It was taken over by his son Richard Hucks in 1923, but left the family when Richard was killed in an accident in the yard's dry dock. It was subsequently split up and used by a number of companies, until it was bought and re-developed in 2011 and re-named Hampton Riviera.
The Hucks Boat Yard Collection is arranged in two series:
- DC13/1 Newspaper cuttings and photographs
- DC13/2 Legal documents and correspondence
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.
The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
If you would like further information about accessing this collection or have any other queries, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html