Parish records of York, St Cuthbert

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1581-1944 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1773-1812); register of marriages, 1581-1975; register of burials, 1581-1852 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1773-1812); register of banns, 1754-1800, 1889-1973; register of services, 1874-1958, 1963-1970; register of confirmations, 1909; records concerning benefice income, including church dues, 1717, tithe papers, 1897, 1905, 1920-1933, glebe accounts, 1904-1906, correspondence regarding glebe sale, 1877-1882, 1945, sequestration account, 1910, and correspondence regarding benefice value, 1926-1939; charity records, including correspondence and papers, 1887, 1892, 1909, 1924-1934; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1819-1939, briefs, 1709, 1711, 1715-1721, fabric papers, 1864, 1936, restoration accounts, 1917-1918, and pew rents, 1873-1877; records of incumbents, including parish visiting books, 1907, correspondence and photograph of mobile X-ray unit, Salonica, 1917-1918, parsonage house papers, 1830-1831, 1865, 1935, statistical returns, 1912, 1932-1933; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1808-1837, rates valuations, 1799, 1819, 1869, rates correspondence, 1833-1843, 1906-1907, settlement examinations and removals, 1836-1842, and settlement certificate, 1833; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including societies' meetings accounts and papers, 1882-1910, Women's Meeting register, early 20th century, Men's Society minutes of meetings and register, 1906-1908; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1763-1787, and agreement to repair Tang Hall Lane, 1824; terrier, 1849; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1851-1963, accounts, 1910, 1913-1917, 1921, 1936, 1965-1970, parish maps with correspondence, 1930-1937, and census return 1811; visitor's book, 1911-1982; leaflet giving history of the church, nd. [2000s].

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Cuthbert in York was mentioned in 1087 when it was held of Earl Hugh by William de Percy. The advowson of the church was held by Holy Trinity Priory from at least 1238 and passed to the Crown at the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century. It was transferred to the Archbishop of York in 1868.

The parish of York St Cuthbert has incorporated York, St Helen on the Walls and York, All Saints Peasholme since 1586, though they remained in use as distinct secular units until 1900. The parish also included from around this time a detached portion in Heworth in the North Riding. This portion became a consolidated chapelry and formed part of the new independent parish of Holy Trinity Heworth in 1870.

In 1966 the parish was combined with the parish of York, Holy Trinity in Goodramgate with St John Delpike and St Maurice without Monkbar and the resulting ecclesiastical parish was named York St Cuthbert, Peasholme. In 1975 the parish was amalgamated with St Michael le Belfrey and the church made redundant.

The church fabric retains sections from various periods, with part of the East wall dating from the eleventh century, and substantial portions from c. 1500. The church was restored in 1864 by Breakspear and then again in 1911-1912 by Charles Hodgson Fowler and W. H. Wood. A free standing block of offices, meeting rooms and a kitchen was added in the 1980s by Greenwood and Nicholas. Church furniture surviving from the early 1600s includes the altar table, pulpit and a reading desk.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1965 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1977, 1982, 1987, 2000, 2002, 2003 and 2013.

Note

The church of St Cuthbert in York was mentioned in 1087 when it was held of Earl Hugh by William de Percy. The advowson of the church was held by Holy Trinity Priory from at least 1238 and passed to the Crown at the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century. It was transferred to the Archbishop of York in 1868.

The parish of York St Cuthbert has incorporated York, St Helen on the Walls and York, All Saints Peasholme since 1586, though they remained in use as distinct secular units until 1900. The parish also included from around this time a detached portion in Heworth in the North Riding. This portion became a consolidated chapelry and formed part of the new independent parish of Holy Trinity Heworth in 1870.

In 1966 the parish was combined with the parish of York, Holy Trinity in Goodramgate with St John Delpike and St Maurice without Monkbar and the resulting ecclesiastical parish was named York St Cuthbert, Peasholme. In 1975 the parish was amalgamated with St Michael le Belfrey and the church made redundant.

The church fabric retains sections from various periods, with part of the East wall dating from the eleventh century, and substantial portions from c. 1500. The church was restored in 1864 by Breakspear and then again in 1911-1912 by Charles Hodgson Fowler and W. H. Wood. A free standing block of offices, meeting rooms and a kitchen was added in the 1980s by Greenwood and Nicholas. Church furniture surviving from the early 1600s includes the altar table, pulpit and a reading desk.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2003. Later material has not yet been listed.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1581-1944, marriages, 1581-1975, burials, 1581-1852, and banns, 1889-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1819-1878, poor account book, 1808-1837, overseers' of the poor accounts, 1833-1837, poor law papers, 1828-1843), surveyors' accounts, 1863-1887, and valuations, 1799-1819, 1869, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 835-836, 1780-1781).

Archivist's Note

Created 10.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Denys and St George which include a map showing alterations of the areas of the parishes of All Saints and St Crux with St Saviour and St Sampson with Holy Trinity, King's Court; St Michael le Belfrey and Holy Trinity, Goodramgate; St Cuthbert; Holy Trinity, Heworth; and St Denys, 1975. See also the parish records of York, St Michael le Belfrey which include church newsletters for St Cuthbert's, 1970-1972, and St Michael le Belfrey with St Cuthbert, 1975-1981, and papers concerning the 40 year anniversary of St Cuthbert and St Michael le Belfrey, 2005.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193