Cambridge Dancers' Club: Correspondence and papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Correspondence, minutes and other papers.

Administrative / Biographical History

Cambridge Dancers' Club was founded in October 1950. Its first meeting was held in the Masonic Hall behind the Guildhall in Cambridge. Membership quickly grew to over five hundred people, drawn from both the university and the town, and a regular format was soon established: a beginners' class and advanced class on Fridays, and a practice night on Wednesdays. There were monthly competitions, judged by local professionals, and team matches against local clubs. A ball was also held each term at the Guildhall. The club became a registered society of the university in 1970. That year it began to send couples to the Inter-Varsity Dance Championships. The first Varsity match was held in 1974.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Presented by Cambridge Dancers' Club, 1986.

Note

Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The history of the club was compiled with reference to its website (www.srcf.ucam.org/cdc/).

Other Finding Aids

None.