Minutes of General Meetings 1: March 1823 - December 1826

Scope and Content

Minutes of General Meetings: There were 10 meetings in the first year, subsequently 15 meetings each year with an extended summer break. An Anniversary meeting was held in the March at which the Council and Officers are elected, a review of the year given and the finances discussed. Initially meetings were held in either the Thatch House Tavern in St James's Street or Willis' Rooms, King Street, St James, but by 17 January 1824 the Society was housed in Grafton Street. The Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland became the Royal Asiatic Society as from 7 June 1823. On 19 June 1824 the first volume of the Society's Transactions is mentioned. By the end of this period the Society had both a Library and Museum.
The minutes are handwritten in clear copper plate script, in a folio sized leather bound volume in reasonable condition.