Victorian Sheet Music

Scope and Content

A collection of sheet music title pages, comprising:

  • "Ida", sung by Miss Dolby, composed by George Linley, published by Chappell [1851]
  • "The Musical Bouquet", with the first bars of "The Favourite Etude Mazurka", composed by A Talexy [1855]
  • "The Lost Heart", sung by Miss Poole, published by Charles Jefferys [1851]
  • "The Hippopotamus Polka", by L St Mars, published by Charles Jefferys [1850]
  • "Down Where the Blue Bells Grow", written by J Bruton, composed by Alexander Lee, published by D'Almaine and Co [1851]
  • "The Melody from The Corsican Brothers", composed by M Varny, arranged by R Stöpel, published by Chappell [1852]
  • "Select German Songs with English Words", published by B Williams [1850-1860?]
  • "The Standard Bearer Quadrille", composed on Herr Pischeks' Songs from the Deutsche Lyra by Jullien, published by Jullien and Co at the Royal Musical Conservatory [1850-1860?]
  • "Quadrille" from Lucia di Lammermoor, by Charles d'Albert, published by Chappell [1850-1860]
  • "L'Echo du Mont Blanc", polka dedicated to his friend Albert Smith by Jullien, published by Jullien and Co [1853]
  • "Minnie", Madame Anna Thillon and Miss Dolby at Mons. Jullien's Concerts, written by George Linley, published by Jullien and Co [1855]

Administrative / Biographical History

These title pages were most likely collected as examples of lithography, illustration, printing and design for the Printing Trades course at Leicester School of Art and Crafts.

Access Information

Open and available for access.

Acquisition Information

Transferred to the Archive from Library holdings.

Archivist's Note

Catalogued by Katharine Short, Archivist, December 2015.

Conditions Governing Use

Photographs or scans may be made for private research purposes only.