re the acquisition by the Welsh Regional Hospital Board of Oakwood Park Estate, Conwy, for use as a hospital for mental health patients. Oakwood Park had been used as temporary accommodation by Rydal School since 1939 when their own building was requisitioned by the Ministry of Food. When in 1946 the school returned to its old premises in Colwyn Bay, it was decided to keep Oakwood Park for juniors. In 1951 the Pwllycrochan Hotel, which is contiguous to Rydal School, came on the market and the school decided to move there. Oakwood Park was selected by the Welsh Regional Hospital Board for use as a hostel for mental defectives and, in the longer term, development as a mental defective colony of about 800 persons. Despite opposition by Caernarfon County Council, Conwy Borough Council, Nant Conwy Rural District Council and a number of ratepayers, the public enquiry that examined the matter gave permission for the RHB to proceed. File includes correspondence, reports, notes of meetings, a report of the public enquiry, newspaper cuttings and papers re letting part of the land as an agricultural tenancy to J.E. Jones of Crows Nest Farm.
[Parts of some documents are missing].