Autograph Album: Miss Bessie Owen

Scope and Content

AUTOGRAPH ALBUM: Miss Bessie Owen from her friends at Môn B. N. C. '16 - '18 Bangor Normal College and on the occasion of her leaving to start her career.

Includes a flower pressing and some sketches.

English and Welsh messages.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Normal College, Bangor was an independent teacher training college, founded in 1858. It was created through the efforts of the British and Foreign School Society and the educator Sir Hugh Owen, and funded by £11,000 raised through subscription and £2,000 of Government money. Teaching began on temporary premises in January 1858 and the College opened on its permanent site in 1862 until 1996, when the College became part of University of Wales Bangor. In 1979 it changed its name to Y Coleg Normal, Bangor or in English: The Normal College, Bangor. The term "normal school" originated in the early 16th century from the French école normale. The French concept of an "école normale" was to provide a model school with model classrooms to teach model teaching practices to its student teachers, thus acting as a teacher training institute.

Access Information

Dim cyfyngiadau/ No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Transferred by IOACC Recycling Centre Penhescyn


Os gwelwch yn dda archebwch y dogfenau gan ddefnyddio y rhif cyfeirnod amgen (lle ddarperidd) / Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided)

Other Finding Aids

Mae copiau clawr caled o`r catalogau ar gael yn Archifau Ynys Môn ac yn y Gofrestr Cenedlaethol Archifau. Polisi Archifau Ynys Môn yw catalogio yn iaith y ddogfen./Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Archifau Ynys Môn / Anglesey Archives and the National Register of Archives. It is the policy of Archifau Ynys Môn /Anglesey Archives to catalogue in the language of the document.

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Cyflwr da/Good condition

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Amanda Sweet for Archifau Ynys Môn using the following source: Archifiau Ynys Môn/Anglesey Archives, WM/2630

Appraisal Information

Mae'r holl gofnodiadau sy'n cydymffurfio â pholisi casglu Swyddfa Gofnodi Cyngor Sir Ynys Môn wedi eu cadw /All records which meet the collection policy of the Anglesey Archives have been retained.


Ni ddisgwylir croniadau/Accruals are not expected