The collection comprises different series of manorial court papers including: records of court proceedings, briefing papers for the jurors, suit rolls, presentments, wills proved at court with associated correspondence and bonds, and lists of jurors. The papers cover the period 1623 to 1793.
Papers of the court for the Manor of Ossington, Nottinghamshire, 1623-1793
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 230
- Dates of Creation1623-1793
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 boxes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Ossington is a parish and a small village in Nottinghamshire. The Cartwright family owned Ossington Hall and were lords of the manor for many generations until they sold the hall and its estate to William Denison (died 1782), a woollen merchant from Leeds, in the second half of the eighteenth century.
The papers in the collection have been divided by document type into series and within these series into chronological order.
Conditions Governing Access
Access is restricted pending full listing and processing; researchers should contact the Department for advice and appointment to consult the material.
Other Finding Aids
This description is the only publicly available finding aid currently available for the collection.
Copyright on the description belongs to the University of Nottingham.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Conditions Governing Use
Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com).
The papers were collected by local historian Dr T.M. Blagg and deposited by him at Nottinghamshire Archives in 1983. They were transferred to the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections in November 1992.