Y Graig Chapel Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Chapel register, 1895-1913 along with minute and account books, 1880-1958 of Y Graig chapel. A photocopy of an essay on the history of Y Graig chapel which appears to have been written in 1907, with additions made until 1914. Also, a photocopy of a book listing the topics of sermons at Y Graig chapel and elsewhere made by Griffith Jones of Bodargraig, 1880-1889. The most recent items are two programmes, one of a performance of three short plays by Cymdeithas Undebol Y Graig and another of a St Davids Day service held at the chapel, 1987.

Administrative / Biographical History

Y Graig Chapel is situated in an area now known as Penrhosgarnedd in Bangor, north Wales. The chapel was opened in 1814, even though Calvinistic Methodist meetings had been held in the area since 1778 in various households. It was the first dissenting chapel to be built between Bangor and Caernarfon.

The number of members at Y Graig grew very slowly, with the chapel having only 19 members in 1827. Sporadically, it lost members, with many leaving to form their own chapels e.g. in 1840, 20 members left to form Bethania Chapel, in Y Felinheli.

By 1852, although the number of members had not grown dramatically, the cause had a large Sunday School and felt the need to rebuild the chapel. In twenty years, in 1872, a new chapel would be built yet again.

Y Graig chapel is still open today. For further administrative details, consult Etifeddu sylwedd : hanes Capel y Graig, Penrhosgarnedd 1814-1972 by Gwilym Arthur Jones (1972)

Arrangement

Arranged according to record type and chronologically. They have been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, December 2001.

Other Finding Aids

An item level catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 18595-18604, 20025, 28282, 35836, 35861

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Related Material

Amongst the Papers of Rev. John Henry Williams, Canwy there is a collection book belonging to Y Graig Chapel of contributions to various causes, 1924-1942; and also, a few related items were presented by Dr Gwilym A. Jones. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 23474, 34115-34117. See also Edern Manuscripts for miscellaneous papers relating to the chapel, 1843-1869.

Geographical Names