The map is a black and white photographic copy of an original map of the parish of Bulwell which may have been attached to a deed. The original was signed at the bottom by T. Alfred Mann, Percy H. Cooper and A.F.T. Cooper, who had each affixed their seals to the document. Some individual fields were delineated on the original map, but the area covering the town of Bulwell was left mostly blank.
Hand-drawn annotations have been subsequently added to the map at an unknown time, including the title 'Bulwell in 1879'. Different parts of the parish have been hand-coloured according to a schedule of three different types of landholding: 'Original manor (later copyhold)' [the blank area covering the town of Bulwell], 'Original manor, probably Lord's demense (later sold)', and 'Additional land acquired by Lord of the Manor after 1828'. Field names have also been added in black pen.