Includes London Society for the Extension of University Teaching, Universities Board - minutes 1879-1893, Council reports 1877-1888, 1897-8; Board to Promote the Extension of University Teaching annual reports, 1902/3-1928/9; University Extension and Tutorial Classes Council annual reports, 1929/30-1944/45; Council for Extra-Mural Studies annual reports 1951/2-1981-2, minutes 1966-1982 (incomplete), tutors' reports on classes, 1943-1982; Board to Promote the Extension of University Teaching minutes, 1900-1929; University Extension and Tutorial Classes Council minutes, 1929-1946; University Extension Committee minutes, agenda, papers 1929-1982, annual reports 1948-1958; Holiday Courses for Foreign Teachers records, c1907-c1976; printed regulations for school inspection, 1897-1930 (incomplete); other committees' records include Advisory Committee on Diploma on Theory and Practice of Physical Action papers, 1929-1953.
Department of Extra-Mural Studies
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 UoL/EM
- Dates of Creationc1876-c1990
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Descriptioncirca 20 shelf metres plus 22 boxes of uncatalogued papers
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1876 the London Society for the Extension of University Education was founded with the aim of encouraging working people into higher education. In 1900 it became the Board to Promote the Extension of University Teaching (BPEUT) and became part of the University of London. The BPEUT became the University Extension and Tutorial Classes Council in 1928. This body was replaced by the Council of Extra-Mural Studies (later the Department of Extra-Mural Studies). The Department was integrated into Birkbeck College in 1988 and was initially known as the Centre for Extra-Mural Studies.
Conditions Governing Access
Open except for files which may be closed under the Freedom of Information Act. Please see archivist for details. 24 hours notice is necessary for a research visit.
Other Finding Aids
A hard-copy of the full catalogue is available in the Special Collections reading room.
Deposited by R A S Knowles, Assistant Director (1965-1973)