Great Orme Lighthouse and Telegraph Station Logbooks

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

This collection contains logbooks maintained by the employees of Great Orme Lighthouse. Llandudno, North Wales. Information entered in the logbooks relates to weather including winds and temperature. Also includes remarks regarding any sightings or other occurrences during the watch and the condition of the equipment and apparatus used by the lighthouse keeper. Contains the signature of the person in charge of the watch and date and time of duty.

Administrative / Biographical History

The lighthouse, located two miles from the centre of the historic Victorian seaside resort of Llandudno, North Wales, was constructed in 1862 by the Mersey Docks and Harbour Company, which built the fortress like building using dressed limestone and large amounts of Canadian pitch pine. It acted as a beacon providing a continuous warning of danger to seafarers until March 1985 when the optic was removed. Today it is the site of a visitor centre on the summit of the Great Orme. On entering the lighthouse, visitors see the impressive Keepers' Hall with its 6 metre pitch pine panelling and gallery, built to allow privacy between the two keepers and their families.

Arrangement

Material has been arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Note

Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, August 2001

Other Finding Aids

Item level word processed list is available at the Department of Manuscripts at the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 3093-3110

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.