Parish records of Wigginton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1691-1866, 1887-1983 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812); register of marriages, 1691-1811, 1813-1992; register of burials, 1691-1933 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812); register of banns, 1824-1917, 1920-1986; register of services, 1895-1993; other registration material, 1803-1918; records concerning benefice income, including glebe lease, 1917, and stock receipts, 1804, 1807, 1822; charity records, including Wigginton Charity, Ann Nicholson and John Lund Charities, Malton Typhoid Distress Fund and Lancashire Relief Fund papers, 1862-1865, 1932-1966; churchwardens’ records, including accounts and financial papers, 1692-1699, 1704-1787, 1843-1919, briefs, 1707-1710, pew list, 1789, fabric papers (organ), 1984, and churchyard papers, 1922; constables’ accounts, 1704-1807; records of incumbents, including dilapidations papers, 1931, statistical returns, 1894-1905, and church collection accounts, 1862-1918; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1693, 1718-1787, lists of settlement certificates, 1714-1787, examinations, 1782-1783, removal orders, 1777-1787, bastardy bonds, 1745-1798, and papers regarding a dispute over lands, 1796-1820; school records, including valuation of school and garden, 1913, admissions register, 1873-1900, and deeds, 1713-1836; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes, 1928-1982, electoral rolls, 1975-1976, 1978, 1980-1983, correspondence flies, 1942-1982, parish magazines, 1931-1932, 1937, village drainage report, 1862, and minute books, 1928-1982; papers concerning the re-dedication of the parish church, 2008.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a chapel at Wigginton from at least the mid thirteenth century and a church was dedicated there in 1424. It belonged to the Cathedral Church of York and had been assigned by them to the Treasurer. The parish was therefore subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Treasurership until 1547 and thereafter was a peculiar within the Dissolved Treasurership until the nineteenth century. The patronage however passed to the Crown, excepting a short period in the seventeenth century when it was granted to the Knyvett and then the Howard families.

The present parish church was built in 1860 by Messrs Atkinson of York, replacing the medieval building that had stood on the same site. It was originally dedicated to St Nicholas, then later to St Mary & St Nicholas, before returning to its first dedication in 2008. The church comprises a small nave without aisles and can accommodate 150 people. A church hall was added in 1994-1995.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Haxby (St Mary) and Wigginton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1983, 1986, 1988, 1997 and 2009.

Note

There was a chapel at Wigginton from at least the mid thirteenth century and a church was dedicated there in 1424. It belonged to the Cathedral Church of York and had been assigned by them to the Treasurer. The parish was therefore subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Treasurership until 1547 and thereafter was a peculiar within the Dissolved Treasurership until the nineteenth century. The patronage however passed to the Crown, excepting a short period in the seventeenth century when it was granted to the Knyvett and then the Howard families.

The present parish church was built in 1860 by Messrs Atkinson of York, replacing the medieval building that had stood on the same site. It was originally dedicated to St Nicholas, then later to St Mary & St Nicholas, before returning to its first dedication in 2008. The church comprises a small nave without aisles and can accommodate 150 people. A church hall was added in 1994-1995.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Haxby (St Mary) and Wigginton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, marriages and burials, 1691-1900, and banns, 1824-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 814, 1756, 1778).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193