Diary, 25 December 1693 - 25 May 1729, 111 folios. At fo. 102 is an account of Jonas Hubbart, 1688. Fos 88-99 are blank.
William Coe: Diary
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Coe (1662-1729) was born in the parish of Mildenhall, Suffolk, the son of William Coe (1627-1680) and Judith, ne Colman (d. 1669). He was a gentleman, who inherited wealth and status from his father and grandfather. He owned 100 acres in the local area, and was a farmer and producer of malt. Coe held several offices in the parish, and served as churchwarden for West Row in 1693, where he lived. He mixed with the leaders of the local community, and was one of the leading opponents of the presence of Quakerism in the area during the 1690s. Coe died at Mildenhall in 1729.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Presented by G.O. Read, 1935.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled with reference to Matthew Storey's Two East Anglian diaries.
Other Finding Aids
Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.
The diary has been printed in the East Anglian, vols. 11 and 12, and has been edited by Matthew Storey in Two East Anglian diaries, 1641-1729: Isaac Archer and William Coe (The Boydell Press, Suffolk Records Society, Volume 36, 1994).