Parish records of Acomb, St Stephen

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1634-1749, 1760-1983 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1786-1796); register of marriages, 1634-1749, 1754-2004; register of burials, 1634-1749, 1760-1968 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1786-1812); register of banns, 1960-1990; register of services, 1923-1947, 1956-2002; register of confirmations, 1944-1960; register of graves, n.d. [20th century]; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence, 1864-1925; charity records, including deed, 1813, details of gift to poor, 1632, and parish charity papers, 1874-1944; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1892-1948, fabric papers, 1881-1984, and papers regarding churchyard, 1923-1945; records of incumbents, including papers concerning parsonage house, 1871-1905, and statistical returns, 1931, 1933-1939; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including correspondence and papers regarding church hall, 1932-1954, and choir register, 1930-1950; school records, including managers' minutes, 1904-1950, 1957, 1962-1963, 1974-1981, accounts, 1894-1913, log books, 1863-1951, admission registers, 1864-1924, correspondence and papers, 1874-1983, papers concerning teachers' salaries, 1911-1938, and diocesan inspector's reports on religious instruction, 1912-1929; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings and related papers, 1828-1901, 1923-2010, electoral rolls, 1945-1971, Acomb and Holgate enclosure act, 1774, with extracts from award, 1776, parish magazine, 1887-1995 (with gaps); slides of graves, now covered by new extension, n.d.; photographs of east window of St Stephen’s Church, n.d.; CD of digital copies of Kodachrome slides of the east window of St Stephen’s Church, c.1992-2014.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of St Stephen, Acomb, was given by Archbishop Grey to the Treasurer of the Church of York in 1228. A vicarage was ordained in 1313 and augmented in 1414. The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Treasurership until this was surrendered to the Crown in 1547, but remained a peculiar within the Dissolved Treasurership until the nineteenth century.

The vicarage was augmented in 1764 through Queen Anne’s Bounty, and received additional funds in 1810 and 1815 from the parliamentary grant. St Stephen’s Church was rebuilt and enlarged in 1830-1831, at which time parts of an earlier Saxon church were uncovered.

Created from Acomb was the parish of York, St Edward the Confessor, Dringhouses in 1853, the parish of Holy Redeemer, Acomb, in 1938, and that of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor, in 1968. In 1965 the church of St Aidan was built as a chapel of ease to Acomb, serving the new Chapelfields housing estate. Today Acomb is a two church parish with a single incumbent for both St Stephen and St Aidan.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1971 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1975, 1978, 1980, 1981, 1985, 1986, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2009 and 2014.

Note

The church of St Stephen, Acomb, was given by Archbishop Grey to the Treasurer of the Church of York in 1228. A vicarage was ordained in 1313 and augmented in 1414. The parish was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Treasurership until this was surrendered to the Crown in 1547, but remained a peculiar within the Dissolved Treasurership until the nineteenth century.

The vicarage was augmented in 1764 through Queen Anne’s Bounty, and received additional funds in 1810 and 1815 from the parliamentary grant. St Stephen’s Church was rebuilt and enlarged in 1830-1831, at which time parts of an earlier Saxon church were uncovered.

Created from Acomb was the parish of York, St Edward the Confessor, Dringhouses in 1853, the parish of Holy Redeemer, Acomb, in 1938, and that of St James the Deacon, Acomb Moor, in 1968. In 1965 the church of St Aidan was built as a chapel of ease to Acomb, serving the new Chapelfields housing estate. Today Acomb is a two church parish with a single incumbent for both St Stephen and St Aidan.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2014, excepting only the 2013 deposit which has not yet been listed.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1663/4-1983, marriages, 1663-1749, 1754-1990, and burials, 1662-1939, 1946-1955, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 624, 1583-1586).

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Includes slides and a CD. Access to audiovisual and digital material may be restricted due to technical requirements, please contact the Borthwick Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 30.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Aidan which include minutes books of the St Aidan's Committee, a sub committee of the joint St Stephen's and St Aidan's Parochial Church Council, 1979-1987, and a joint service register for St Stephen's and St Aidan's, 1984-1994.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Archaeological Society, 'The parish register of Acomb, Volumes 1-10, 1663-1837.' Transcribed and edited by Harold Richardson (Wakefield, 1965).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193