African Writers Series

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

A collection of 59 works, 1964-1986, including poetry, drama, and nonfiction, published in the Heinemann African Writers Series, comprising manuscripts, typescripts with authorial corrections, proof and revised copies, chiefly original but including some photocopies, by over 40 authors including Chinua Achebe, Elechi Amadi, Syl Cheyney-Coker, T Obinkaram Echewa, Nadine Gordimer, Nelson Mandela, Ngugi wa Thiong'o, Martin Owusu, Mwangi Ruheni, and Stanlake Samkange.

Administrative / Biographical History

The African Writers Series was published by the International Division of Heinemann Publishers between 1962 and 2003.

Conditions Governing Access

Varying restrictions. Various manuscript numbers.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Heinemann Publishers during the 1970s and 1980s.

Other Finding Aids


Archivist's Note

This description composed by Rosemary Seton, Archivist, SOAS based on the description originally compiled for the RSLP AIM25 project.

Conditions Governing Use

No publication without prior written permission. Apply to SOAS Archives in first instance.