- Records of the Governing Body: report by the Council, incorporating the report by the headmistress 1929-1934
- College Committee 1930-1934
- Prospectus 1926-1934
- Correspondence of the Director, and the Deputy Director of Moray House, regarding St. Georges 1924/1925-1935/1936
- Arranged in bundles, incorporates Student Records, Scottish Education Department forms and returns.
Records of St. George's Training College, Edinburgh
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St. George's Training College was founded in 1886. In 1913 the College was amalgamated with St. George's High School for Girls, Edinburgh under the title of St. George's School for Girls (Incorporated), Edinburgh. In the 1920s the responsibility for professional training of teachers in Scotland was transferred to the National Committee for the Training of Teachers. This committee maintained the Training Centres for men and women. The Training Department of St. Georges was affiliated to the Edinburgh Provincial Training Centre. This Department was finally closed in 1939, but St. George's School for Girls still exists in Garscube Terrace, Edinburgh.
The Training College was the only institution in Scotland where women desiring to teach in other than elementary schools could receive a training specially arranged to qualify them for work. Students attended lectures at the University of Edinburgh, and after 1913 some of them entered a new diploma course (it replaced an earlier course which had combined theory and practice) which was open to graduates or graduands taking a four year concurrent course, and was combined with practical training taken at either Moray House or St. George's.
The College was run by a Principal, the first being Miss M.R. Walker ( 188 -1910 )
Collection consists of a series of files and loose correspondence, a mixture of student records, Scottish Education Department forms, prospectuses etc. No formal arrangement could be discerned, although there was some rough date order within the various bundles. Due to time constraints and the lack of any formal arrangement, it was decided to keep the bundles intact and arrange by date. This allows the variety of records featuring the same students to be kept together. A detailed list of records common to all bundles is provided, as well as some item level information at bundle level. Researchers are advised to check both the year in which the course was started and completed.
By appointment only. Aceess is subject to the Data Protection Act (1998).
We strongly encourage you to contact us before your visit as special access conditions and restrictions apply to some collections. Please see our information on requesting material
Moray House College of Education
Other Finding Aids
More detailed handlist available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Property of the University of Edinburgh
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Director of University Collections.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 237 procedures
Records were identified and listed as part of the 1995-1999 Non- Formula Funding Scottish Higher Education Funding Council specialised research collections in the Humanities. The records were bundled and marked 'Papers ( Godfrey H. Thompson files)', then Director of Studies at Moray House. The correspondence also features that of Alex Morgan, Deputy Director of Studies.
Location of Originals
This material is original