Inventories and valuations of furniture etc., in Thornton Castle, Laurencekirk belonging to Mrs Thornton and Miss Scott and 13 plans of buildings belonging to the Thornton Estate surveyed by Northern Assurance Co Ltd.
Thornton Castle, Laurencekirk: inventories and plans
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thornton Castle, near Laurencekirk in the parish of Marykirk, Kincardineshrie is known to date back to at least 1531. It was an ancient seat of the Strachan family. The property was acquired by Alexander Crombie, an advocate and land agent, in 1804, was considerably refurbished in the following years, and was later owned by Sir Thomas Thornton.
Records are arranged within series.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Details of the original accession are unknown. Further records were deposited by Mrs Thornton in 1990 (AccM/268).
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.