The Glasgow Ladies' Club or Glasgow Ladies' Tea Club started life as the Glasgow Ladies' Tea Club in 1922 in order "to provide facilities for social intercourse among the wives of the members of University staff". The name was shortened to The Glasgow Ladies' Club in 1935 after a vote of members. The Club was managed by a committee that consisted of an honorary president (always the wife of the Principal of Glasgow University), a convener, a vice-convener, an honorary secretary, an honorary treasurer and eight members of the club, four of whom were chosen from the wives of the professors, and four from the wives of junior staff. The members of the committee were to act for two years and the honorary secretary and the treasurer were to hold office for not more than four years.
By 1933 the club organised two afternoon tea parties and a dance each year which had increased to three in 1936. In 1938 the club altered its constitution to make women members of staff eligible to join. In 1937 the Ladies' voted to include a short debate or talk in future meetings, adding an educational element to the Club's role. During the Second World War, the Club suspended its annual dance and began "Good Works", collecting donations for the City of Glasgow Central Relief Fund which was then donated to those serving in the forces. Charitable work continued throughout the Club's history, both through fundraising and voluntary work. In 1963 the Baby Club was taken over by the Ladies' Club, and staffed by volunteers from it. It allowed mothers the chance to leave their children for up to two hours on Wednesday afternoons in term time. Coffee mornings were held to raise money for the University Settlement to which end members of the club also ran a thrift shop in Byres Road. In 1965 area groups were formed in order to organise local activities for Glasgow Ladies who could not easily come into the University itself, to ensure they were still part of a local network. From 1962 evening meetings became established, and the pattern of events became one daytime meeting a month, meetings in the evening from time to time, and various one off events throughout the year. A Christmas Dance continued to be held each year. The society had always arranged outings, but from 1970, an evening visit to which husbands of members were also invited became an annual event. From 1975 the Ladies' Club was invited to attend a service at the University Chapel, and an annual service for the Ladies' Club continues to be held each November. In 1994 the Club introduced a lunch hour meeting where members meet or visit a local exhibition. The Glasgow Ladies Club still ongoing (2010).