The collection includes photographs of the staff, the whole school, form groups, classes, sport teams, the home economics group and a school drama production. In addition it contains photographs of the school buildings and Gwydir Castle.
Llanrwst Grammar School Photographs
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CP396
- Dates of Creation1894-1995
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description3 boxes, 1 outsize box
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Llanrwst Grammar School was founded by Sir John Wynne of Gwydir (1553-1626) in 1610. In the 'Orders, Rules, Statutes and Ordinances' made by Sir Wynne in 1612, he decided that there should be a Free School (Ysgol Râd). Between 1822-1828 the school was closed. In 1895 the school changed it's name to The Llanrwst County School, but was then re-established as The Llanrwst Grammar School in 1939. The school changed it's name for a final time in 1962 to Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Loaned to the archive 10 February 2005 by Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy, per Janet Pierce (Deputy Head).